IVVGA believes the future of our industry is dependent upon young leadership.  Many of our members are third and fourth generation family members involved in agriculture.    We are proud to award scholarships each year to  those individuals who have chosen to pursue an education directly related to agriculture.

General Information for the Scholarships Requirements

Each of these scholarships will receive matching funds from the Imperial County Ag Benefit Fund, subject to the approval of the Imperial County Board of Supervisors.

The Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association in cooperation with our members in the produce and other related industries are providing various scholarships in the range of $500 to $1,000 and some smaller scholarships. The purpose of these scholarships is to assist students from the Imperial Valley who wish to continue their studies in agriculturally related majors. This is done with the hope that those students will then return to benefit the industry through their studies. This scholarship is only awarded to students attending a four-year college and who are pursuing careers in agriculture through a recognized agricultural major. The criteria we use include the following parameters:   

                                                                                              Scoring Value
(1) Major ( Agricultural)  
(2) Grade point average*                                                     25
(3) Scholastic achievements                                              10  
(4) Extra-curricular & community activities              20  
(5) Financial need                                                                    20  
(6) Oral interview                                                                    25  
TOTAL POINTS                                                                     100 

*minimum of 3.3 for high school senior; 3.0 for college student based on 4.0 grade point average system.

Please return completed application to: Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association 
Attn: Scholarship Committee 
PO Box 358 
El Centro, CA 92244 

Applications for 2017-2018  school year will be accepted as early as January 31, 2017.  The 2017-2018 application is now  this website.. Applications must be received by April 13, 2017. No late applications will be accepted.

Thank you for your interest in our industry and our scholarship. One application will be used for the all various scholarships. 

*Ed McGrew Scholarship

 Whereas, Ed McGrew was a founding members on the Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association and has served on the board since its foundation 
And whereas, Ed McGrew has spent his life working in the industry of agriculture; 
And whereas, Ed McGrew has served as an ambassador for agriculture through his work in the community; 
And whereas, Ed McGrew attended Cal Poly San Luis Obispo and excelled in all aspects of the experience, including serving as the Associated Student Body President;
And whereas, Ed McGrew always displayed a willingness to explore new frontiers in the industry;
The Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association designates The Ed McGrew Scholarship, which will be awarded along with the Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association scholarship awards to a deserving student who displays the following attributes, exemplified by Ed McGrew:

Will be attending Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo

Has worked in the industry

Demonstrates an understanding that the community is benefited by agriculture and agriculture by the community

Displays a willingness to explore new frontiers and opportunities in agriculture

Therefore be it resolved that the Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association commends Ed McGrew for a lifetime of work in our industry and for his steadfast support of our organization.
2015 Conner Trimm
2014 Connor Trimm
2013 Lindsey Stiff 
2012 Cheyenne A. Poitra
2011 Brooke Bradshaw
2010 Cheyene Poitra
2009 Lindsey Stiff
2008 none 
2007 Kelly Bishop
2006 Kelly Bishop

Philip Vessey Memorial Scholarship Recipients
2015 - Brooke Bradshaw
2014 - Brooke Bradshaw

Danny Danenberg Scholarship Recipients
2009  Lindsey Stiff
2008  none
2007  Kelly Bishop
2006-04 none
2003  Karlelisa Jones, Melody Carter, Mark Miller, Karla Wong
2002  Julia Brett Reeves, Steven Emanuelli, Garret Bishop, Karla Wong
2001  none
2000  Christal Jannel Yankovich, Adam Holtz, Emily Irungaray, Jacqueline Hannon, Meghan Rutherford, Yvette Ihidoy, Kurt Rubin
1999  Shavonne Fortin, Jana Hampton
1998  Heather Havens, Yvette Ihidoy, Kurt Rubin, Nicole Gene Menvielle

Imperial Valley Produce Scholarship Recipients

2016 Jerryca Haller, Joshua Trimm, Shelby Dill, Cierra Allen, Dawson Pfister, Diana Ramirez, Jonathan Phillips, Tiffani Canez, Hunter Singh, Connor Trimm, Carlos Gomez, Remington Campbell, Joshua R. Klockmann, 
2015 Alex Strobel, Tiffani Canez, Hunter Singh, Andrea Anavisca, Mason Mange, Briza Saldivar, Anahi Ochoa, Jaycie Cruz, John Brooks Hamby, Conner Trimm, Brooke Bradshaw, Carlos Gomez
2014  Brooke Bradshaw, John Brooks Hamby, Cole Pfister, Connor Trimm, Remington Campbell,  Carlos Gomez, Joshua R.  Klockmann,    
2013, Brooke Bradshaw, Joshua R. Klockmann, Ben Abatti III, Austin Zendejas, Kailin McFadden, Lindsey Stiff
2012 Joshua R. Klockmann, Cheyenne A. Poitra, Brooke Bradshaw
2011 Cheyene A. Poitra, Wesley Dean, Brooke Bradshaw, Brea Haller
2010 Cheyene A. Poitra, Amanda Poore, Courtney Miller
2009 Cheyene. A. Poitra, Lindsey Stiff, Taylor Ortiz, Sara Jane Abatti
2007 Garret Bishop, Kelly Bishop, Jessica Thompson
2006 Andrew Leimgruber, Allison Millan, Garret Bishop, Kelly Bishop, Jessica Thompson
2005 Joseph Cameron, Garret Bishop, Karla Wong, Bernadettte Plazola, Anita Claveria, Jessica Rose Thompson, Andrew Fleming
2004 Jonathan Harmon, Darcy Ellen Huffman, Kelly Bishop, Karla Wong, Stephanie Leimgruber
2003 Karla Wong, Karleisa Jones, Melody Carter, Mark Miller

Thanks to our 2017 Supporters 

Keithly-Williams Seeds, Holtville

TS & L Seeds, Holtville

Imperial Compost, Brawley

RDO Water, Brawley

 Wells Fargo, Brawley